« Pilot Season Has Landed. | Main | Push Up »

When You Cross an Emergency Room with a Chicken...

NJB ER Yes, this picture has been airbrushed a bit because I had been on set for 12 hours and was looking tired and raggedy by the time I took it.  Plus the surgical mask is murder on a makeup job.  I've been trying to get back to y'all for 2+ days now, but my schedule just wouldn't permit it.  I shot my episode of "ER" on Tuesday, and it was pretty awesome.  It was a 12-hour day, and those clogs that I thought were comfy when I first tried them on had my feet crying for mercy after standing for ten hours, and STILL, there was no place I would rather have been.

I worked with Noah Wyle, Eriq LaSalle, Christian Clemenson from Boston Legal (he recognized me), and the episode was directed by John Wells, himself.  I got to assist in an operation & see how the "blood-and-guts" of it all really work.  Note:  Some of that stuff is REAL.  ;o)  At some point during the shoot, I just stood there in the "operating room" and thought to myself:  "I'm a long way from my first college play in Iowa."  Wow.  Later, the second A.D. told me that this is a GREAT episode to be in because some big names will be making an appearance.  I'll let y'all know when it's expected to air.  Sometime in late March, I think.

So, Here's my week:  Monday I worked for 12 hours at the production office.  Tuesday I worked 12 hours on set at Warner Bros.  Wednesday I had 3 auditions (one commercial, two television), and ran back and forth from my production gig to different casting offices/ studios all over town.  My last audition was for CSI, and I had to make up a voodoo dance.  I did it, and was told "That was great...can you do it one more time?  Kind of like a chicken."  I just started laughing.  It took me a moment to regain my composure, but the casting assistant was laughing too.  I was so tired and still had to make up work I couldn't get done at the office during the day because I was busy driving around, so I had to miss my last audition workshop.  Thankfully I can make it up next month.

Today I got up early, came into the production office before anyone else (because it's quiet and I can get a lot done), left to go to a commercial audition at a casting office with lots of furry pets so I've been sneezing all day long.  I'm still at the office, but hopefully I can leave soon and get to bed early.

I'm so mixed up, I don't know if I'm a voodoo priestess, a woman who likes to eat Cheez-it crackers while doing the chicken dance and reading a Hallmark card near a crime scene or what.  I changed clothes so many time yesterday that finally I just gave up.  I showed up at work looking like I walked off the set of "Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome" and my boss asked me "Why are you dressed like that?"  I just looked at him and laughed.  I really didn't know.

Still, I can't imagine anything I'd rather be doing.  Even on the bad days (and there aren't that many), life is good. 

--Nicole J. Butler

Dig This

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341c9cc153ef01053711d9c1970b

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference When You Cross an Emergency Room with a Chicken...:

Comments

WhenIGrowUpCoach

Love it! Love all the work you've been doing, and the perspective of it all. I know gobs of actors that would be doing nothing but COMPLAINING about their schedules. You keep going with the flow, girl! More ER-like success is in your future...I can feel it. But maybe that's the voodoo dance talking....

stacey jackson

Congratulations, darling. This is all wonderful! Keep us posted on the air date. :)

Nicole J. Butler

I do complain sometimes. A friend actually laughed (HARD) at me when I whined last week, but I realize that I just have to get over it and do what I gotta do. Thanks for the votes of confidence - when I find out the airdate, I will let y'all know!

The comments to this entry are closed.