« "Juno" What? It Sucks | Main | Hulk Smash! »

ECNY Awards

The ECNY Awards, New York's original comedy awards, were presented at Comix last night to  "the most hilarious and hard-working comedians in New York City." Sixteen awards were handed out over the course of the two-hour show.


The winners include:

Best Director:
Kurt Braunohler (Penelope: Princess of Pets, Big Black Ballet, Police Procedures)

Best Improv Group:
I Eat Pandas 

Best One Person Show:
Nick Kroll (Fabrice Fabrice)

Best Sketch Comedy Group:
Harvard Sailing Team

Outstanding Achievement in Postcard or Flyer Design:
Keith Huang & Matt Johnson (The Apple Sisters)

Best Technician:
Pat Baer

Best Short Comedic Film:
"Minesweeper" (Elephant Larry) 

Best Web Site (Original Comedic Content):
The Onion News Network

Best Web Site (News or Commentary):
The Apiary (Nate X)

Best Host(s):
Eugene Mirman and Michael Showalter (Tearing the Veil of Maya @ Union Hall) 

Best Variety Show:
The Greg Johnson and Larry Murphy Show

Emerging Comic Award:
Joe Mande 

Best Musical Comedy Act:
The Apple Sisters 

Best Male Stand Up Comedian:
John Mulaney 

Best Female Stand Up Comedian:
Kristen Schaal


The ECNY Awards are produced by Alex Goldberg (Fearsome), Jon Friedman (The Rejection Show), Carol Hartsell (Drink at Work), Nate (The Apiary), and Alexander Zalben (SketchFest NYC).

Producers said, "Winners were selected by combining a public voting process, and voting by a committee composed of industry professionals. The Awards have been completely revamped with a new production team after an almost two year hiatus. Whereas the previous awards only recognized the "emerging" category of comedic artists, the current ECNYs celebrate all the comedic performing arts in NYC by honoring the best, funniest, and most creative performers, shows, and producers working in the field. Hence, the original name of the awards has been eliminated, and they will be referred to only by their former acronym: The ECNY Awards."

-- Daniel Lehman

Dig This


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference ECNY Awards:


The comments to this entry are closed.