« For Your Consideration: Robert Downey, Jr... or Kirk Lazarus? | Main | More Shows Are Closings, But Broadway Is Optimistic »

The Webby Awards: Get Your Entries in Now

Jakeandamir Hey everybody get your original shorts ready and enter the 13th Annual Webby Awards.  Starting today through December 12th, The Webby Awards will premiere one video each day at the webby's promotional site  as they lead up to the big event and hey you may be inspired.  Check out the videos by Jake and Amir - great!  Both the web promotion and videos are super funny!  Just a tip: you should not blow this off as just any shorts' contest.  Keep reading...there are some heavy hitters involved! 

Barely_clothed Also you can see past nominees and some web geniuses behind some of the most popular videos including, yes your favorite super-hero (sort of), Obama Girl, looking super hot as usual. After you have had your fill and are quite sick of promotions but ready to enter,  go to www.webbyawards.com and get those entries in....quickly!  The deadline for entries for The 13th Annual Webby Awards is December 19, 2008. To enter work in more than 100 categories, visit the website now!  You only have a 10 days left!  Go! Well alright you can read the rest of the blog first.

"The Webby Awards is dedicated to uncovering and celebrating new talent," said David-Michel Davies, executive director of The Webby Awards. "That's why it's a thrill for us to be able to collaborate with some of the Web's most original voices on this campaign."  Davies noted The 13th Annual Webby Awards is seeking entries in several new categories that salute online video's growing ranks of entertainers, performers, and personalities including Best Host of Reality/Variety Series and Best Individual Performance.

Last year's Webby Awards received a record 10,000 entries from over 60 countries. The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 550-person judging academy whose members include The Sundance Channel's Larry Aidem, Director Darren Aronofsky, Showtime Chief Matt Blank, 20th Century Fox Chairman Jim Gianopoulos, and Harvey Weinstein.

Nominees for the 13th Annual Webby Awards will be announced in April 2009, and winners will be honored at a gala ceremony in New York City in June 2009.

The Webby's has been touted as the "Internet's highest honor" by The New York Times. It is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile Websites.

Jake and Amir from Webby Awards on Vimeo. -- Heather Langone

Dig This


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference The Webby Awards: Get Your Entries in Now:


The comments to this entry are closed.