« Jeff Goldblum Responds to Reports of Jeff Goldblum's Death | Main | 'Web Site Story' Spoofs Broadway, Internet »

Academy's Newest Members Include Jackman, Rogen and Cera

Jackman On Tuesday, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invited 134 members of the film community to join the group, including last year’s Academy Awards show host, Hugh Jackman.

Anne Hathaway, Emily Blunt, James Franco, and Michelle Williams were among those invited to join the group responsible for picking the Oscar winners. The list even includes a number of comic performers like Michael Cera, Seth Rogen and Paul Rudd -- further proof that the Academy, perennially criticized as out-of-date and conservative, is attempting to alter its reputation. 

"These filmmakers have, over the course of their careers, captured the imagination of audiences around the world," Academy president Sid Ganis said. "It's this kind of talent and creativity that make up the Academy, and I welcome each of them to our ranks."

OscarAccording to the Academy's website, "membership in the Academy is by invitation of the Board of Governors and is limited to those who have achieved distinction in the arts and sciences of motion pictures.  Individuals nominated for an Academy Award who are not already members are automatically considered for membership." 

For a full description of how someone involved in the film community becomes a member of the Academy, check out the "Meet the Academy" page.  Voting membership in the organization has held steady at just under 6,000 members since 2003.

HollywoodReporter.com has a full list of all 134 new members. 

-- Michael Catania

Dig This


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Academy's Newest Members Include Jackman, Rogen and Cera :


The comments to this entry are closed.