« L.A. Arts Advocates Fight for Funding | Main | Shakespeareans Do It Better »

Tribeca Fest Award Winners Announced

KekilliWinners for the film festival’s ninth annual world competition were honored Thursday after being selected from a group of 12 narratives and 12 documentary features from 20 different countries. According to The Hollywood Reporter, in the New York Competition, Dana Adam Shapiro’s drama “Monogamy” won best New York narrative and C. Scott Willis’ “The Woodmans” nabbed best New York documentary. Feo Aladag’s German drama “When We Leave,” won for best feature and Sibel Kekilli was awarded best actress for her starring roll in the film. She dropped a thread of obscenities onstage during her acceptance when her English skills escaped her, then asked if her award would be revoked for the blunder. Although no distribution contracts have been dealt, there’s buzz floating around Sony Music Entertainment and the Billy Joel rockumentary “Last Play at Shea.” 

Read the story at The Hollywood Reporter.

Pictured: Sibel Kekilli (Photo: Getty Images)

Dig This


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Tribeca Fest Award Winners Announced:


The comments to this entry are closed.